Results from Superb Stockport

Great Upcoming events
Galvin Green Masters at Mere- thursday-nearly full
Ringway 29th, Wilmslow 9th and Mottram Hall Titleist AM AM on 19th November all filling fast!
Maxitours at superb Stockport

Stockport Golf Club is a wonderful Cheshire course and it has a terrific history. In 1929 the USA Ryder Cup team were passing through the area and wanted to play on the best local course- Stockport was chosen. Twelve local amateurs took them on in a friendly match before the actual Ryder Cup in Moortown and one Stockport member had the terrific achievement of defeating the legendary Gene Sarazen!

Many thanks to all the management and staff for looking after us all so royally today. A great day was had by all and the freshly ironed greens were a real pleasure to putt on.

Ian Johnson struggled on the fast greens but he soon cheered himself up by going round and round the famous Stockport revolving clubhouse door when he thought nobody was looking.

On the 6th hole Alan Clough was happily bending down searching for his ball in the Stockport rough. Unfortunately playing partner Terry Davison decided to hit his first shank of the year and the ball caught Clough flush on his rear. ‘That was lucky -I think it only just lipped out’. said the Styal man as he hobbled away in pain.

In today’s event proud new dad Iain Barthlomew(4) looked a little tired this morning after another sleep interrupted night. This didn’t prevent him from playing the first seven holes in two under par. He nearly spat his own dummy out on the 8th after a bad bounce before more solid play on the back nine saw the likeable Cheshire developer finish in 4th place alongside Ian Noakes(13).

Ian Fairbrother(5) and Gary Hornby(13) got their game on the ‘right tracks’ and they played ‘model ‘ golf to score 43 points and take 3rd place.

John Aikenhead(12) changes partners more often than Leeds United change their manager and today Gordon Hamlett(11) was appointed as his team mate. Gordon and John from Ashton on Mersey had a tremendous back nine and their round came to a stunning finish when Hamlett holed his approach for a remarkable eagle to take the clubhouse lead with 43 points. Unfortunately they looked like a couple of Scottiish rugby players when Macclesfield Golf Club’s Brendan Leighton(16) and Tytherington’s Dave McGuiness(12) beat them late in the day.

Softly spoken Leighton was inspired on the back nine and after playing the first five holes in level par he made a lovely birdie at the last to secure his first ever win with 44 points. Well played chaps, great performance!

Mark Taylor from Shrigley Hall won nearest the pin on 16th with the very last shot of the day.

Thanks to everyone who supported this event, I hope you had a great day on the links.
Yours in golf, Tim

Nearest the Pin 16th Mark Taylor Dozen AD333s
Nearest the pin in 2 on 18th Gordon Hamlett Dozen AD333s
2’s £145 8 pro V1s or 20 AD333S Per 2 sweep Gordon Hamlett Aiden Hoosen Fred Pressler Guy Hall Mark Taylor

Stockport 19-Oct-2015
Pos Player pairings Score OoM Comment
1 Brendan Leighton, Dave McGuiness 44 12 Cleveland wedge each
2 John Aikenhead, Gordon Hamlett 43 11 FJ Shoes each
3 Ian Fairbrother, Gary Hornby 43 10 Tommy Hilfiger shirt each
4 Iain Bartholomew, Ian Noake 43 9 FJ Shirt each
5 Kenny Ackers, Alan Burton 41 8 Sunice shirt each
6 Brian Hopkins, Mark Taylor 41 7 Sunice shirt each
7 Frank Massey, Jimmy O’Reilly 41 6 Dozen AD333s each
8 Phil Lockett, Des Kelly 41 5 Titleist winter hat each
9 Adam Hart, Nick Abbott 40 4 FJ Socks each
10 Richard Blackwell, Simon Hemsley 40 3 FJ Socks each
11 Mo Dar, A Ghost 40 2
12 Paul Wrigley, Aiden Hoosen 40 1
13 Gareth Winston, Matt Sayers 39
14= Colin Roberts, John Rigby 38
14= Bill Willocks, Terry Paul 38
14= John Berry, Chris O’Regan 38
14= Peter Canning-Smith, Bill Glover 38
14= Jason Henderson, Paul Clay 38
14= Matt Merson, Lee Merson 38
14= Kevin Hart, Jim Driscoll 38
14= Mike Sandell, Peter Bedford 38
14= Dave Parsons, Dave Moore 38
14= Simon Poucher, Jan Jagielka 38
14= John Farrell, Mick Philbin 38
14= Dave Goodier, Paul Keough 38
26= Mike Spencer, Darren Whittaker 37
26= Hetash Patel, Martin Cullen 37
26= Ray Haddock, Lee Jevons 37
26= Dave Lomax, Mike Tarrant 37
26= Steve Aspinall, Colin Berry 37
26= Alan Drew, Alan Simpson 37
32= Gary Youall, Carl Mollart 36
32= Ron Sloane, Barry Pendlebury 36
32= Ben Luscombe, Andy McEwan 36
32= Peter Noblett, Peter Beech 36
32= Bob Sanderson, Fred Pressler 36
37= Dave Marchant, Alan Turner 35
37= Mark Williams, Simon Conway 35
37= Allan McNicol, Dave Jones 35
37= Dave Harlow, Anthony Bloor 35
41= Mick Mahon, Richard Palmer 34
41= Geoff Haynes, Trevor Harrison 34
41= Steve Wilson, Chris Lovesay 34
41= Ian Johnson, Dave Smith 34
41= Ray Jones, Chris Meilkleham 34
46= Ian King, Jack Hankinson 33
46= Graham Bates, Pete Booth 33
46= Steve Cuthbert, Colin Brazier 33
46= Tim Spencer, Mark Saxon 33
46= Kevin Chisnall, Ross Sellors 33
46= Carl Bolus, Colin Oakley 33
46= Barry Eddlestone, Kevin Fahy 33
46= John Royle, Guy Hall 33
46= Alan Pengelly, Andy Barstow 33
55= Alan Clough, Terry Davison 32
55= Frank Hindle, John Farnworth 32
55= Rob Platt, Steve Morfitt 32
58 Chris Jones, Andy Littlewood 31
59 Steve Johnson, Carl H-Jones 27
60 David Kelly, John Atkin (inj) 24

Start times Galvin Green masters at Mere THIS Thursday 22nd October also supported by Wilson Golf
8.10 David Kelly x4
8.20 Stuart Codling x4
8.30 Dave Blood x4
8.40 Phil Vokes x4
8.49 Ian King x4
8.58 Dave McCallum x4
9.07 Stu Royle x4
9.16 Mark Birtwistle x4
9.25 Mike Saxon x4
9.34 David Hess x4
9.43 Brian Greenbank x4
9.52 Warren Newton x4
10.01 Mick Mahon x4
10.10 Lewis Marland x4
10.28 Ian Ainsworth x4
10.37 Neil Higgins x4
10.46 Chris Adams X4
10.55 Anthony Grimley x4
11.04 Peter Cross 4
11.13 Koos Alders x4
11.22 Paul Wrigley x4
11.31 Paul Robinson x4
11.40 Ian Lilley x4
11.49 Graham Littler x4
11.58 Sam Leach x4
12.16 Nigel Oakes x4
12.34 John Dickenson x4
12.43 Gav Dixon x4
12.52 Richard Blackwell x4
1.01 Dave Sarsfield x4
1.10 Roger Percival x4
1.19 Dave Thomas x4
1.28 Barry Jackson x4
1.37 Ian Broughan x4
1.46 Brian Hopkins x4
1.55 Dan Huffman x4
2.04 Chris Jones x4