Results from Conwy

Maxitours Welsh Classic Day 1 at Conwy

Conwy was the stunning venue for day one of the Welsh Classic Event. EVERYONE was raving about the course condition and the wonderful weather. What a great day!!

Highly rated new General Manager Matt Parsley is doing great things and everything about this famous Club is now five star. Thanks to everyone associated with the Club for your hospitality.

Most teams are staying overnight and Neale Laurent was collecting a Kitty for his team – £5 a man. Sounds like they are in for a big night out in Llandudno.

It is also interesting to note where people are staying.
I am lucky enough to be booked in a very homely and clean local guest house called ‘Sunny side.’
A few teams are booked into the safety of a premier lodge which is not very exciting but it is where you know what you are getting.

Bramhall members have been invited to stay at wealthy retired banker Mike Spencers mansion on the Great Orme. The only problem was that Ian King was doing the inviting without Mikes knowledge. Mike is sleeping on the sofa.(It is a nice sofa though)

I asked Maxitours legend and all-around nice guy Lewis Marland and his team where they are staying and they proudly announced that they were at ‘The White House’ in Llandudno. It was only £25 a head. This rang a few alarm bells as last year Les Russons team stayed there and they swore never to return. I went on trip advisor to check.
These are the first three reviews
‘The worst hotel I have ever stayed in’
‘Absolute Nightmare’
‘Avoid at All costs’
Good luck Lewis!
Things got even worse when Twenty minutes later Joe Kirwan checked in
‘ Where are you staying tonight Joe?’
‘The White house- it’s only £30 a night!’

John Farnsworth continues to lead the Maxitours putts per round average. He only had 19 putts in total today -unfortunately he only putted on six greens as he had picked up well before he needed his putter.

In today’s event Lewis Marlands team took the lead with 84 points. Neale Laurent, Paul Butler and Phil Dickens were his partners.

Jim Clarkes team of three old men and his daughter are lying second with 81 points. They were one short late last week so Jim invited Georgie who is one of the nicest seventeen year old girls you will ever meet. She is in for a long night as her team mates started on the San Miguel immediately after their round at 3pm.
As I left for my bed and breakfast at 6pm one of the team was telling her another “Interesting” story
‘When I was a lad…
Colin Roberts, Dave Marchant, Dave Mason and Mike Upton are looking good in third place. They have a good chance tomorrow but they need to ensure Colin behaves himself in the lively Llandudno nightlife tonight.

Tomorrow looks like the forecast is improving but with an occasional shower and strengthening breeze the leaderboard may well change!! Local man Mike Spencer tells us that the rain will miss us so bring your suncream.

The highly under-rated Knutsford team of Tony Andrews, Trevor Webb, Rob Weston and Steve’Sorry for treading on your line’ Foxcroft are normally delighted to get any score not in the sixties sure enough they were 67 today BUT they all made twos on the 15th – brilliant! (especially as there were only 7 twos on the whole course all day!)

Have a great night.

Nearest the Pin 2nd Doz AD333 Tony Andrews
Nearest the pin 15th Doz AD333 Steve Foxcroft

2’s £140 6 pro v1s or 15 srixonAD333s David Smith Paul Smith Sarah Ormrod Swarmy Naryama Tony Andrews Steve Foxcroft Trevor Webb

Conwy 10 June 2019
Pos Team Players Score OoM Comment
1 Lewis Marland, Neale Laurent, Paul Butler, Phil Dickens 84
2 Jim Clarke, Graham Jackson, Pete Ledger, Georgie Clarke 81
3 Colin Roberts, Dave Mason, Dave Marchant, Mike Upton 80
4= Stuart Reynolds, Chris Fensom, Ray Mills, Steve Hunter 78
4= Dave Greenwood, Gordon Warke, Sarah Ormrod, Wayne Harper 78
4= David Kelly, Bob Sutton, Stuart Blake, David Wilkinson 78
4= Chris Adams, Andy Oakes, Colin Upton, Simon Golsby 78
8 Ian Fensom, Pete Moss, John Griffin, Don Cain 77
9 Bob Eastwood, Ashley Elliott, Mark Clewley, Mike Lamb 76
10= Mike Spencer, Ian King, Darren Whittaker, Simon Allport 75
10= John Hilditch, John Pratt, Simon Walton, Pete Smith 75
10= Jeremy Lawton, Rob Simm, Ian Ritchie, Ben Coleman 75
10= Rob Kenyon, Les Russon, John Priestley, 75
10= Don Campbell, James Callow, Stuart Hodson, Mike George 75
15 Kev Hart, Paul Yearsley, Andrew Mansfield, Jim Booth 74
16 Jim Kenyon, Nigel Davenport, Rick Page, Joe Stanley 72
17 David Smith, Peter O’Driscoll, Tony Coleman, Andy Hallows 71
18= Martin Higgins, Peter Maher, Charlie Beadle, Rob Higginbotham 70
18= Munro Donald, Dave Westwood, Swarmy Naryama, Kieron Hunt 70
18= Peter Dolan, Pete Daniels, Jim Doran, Brian Hitchen 70
21= Rob Weston, Steve Foxcroft, Tony Andrews, Trevor Webb 67
21= Gerry John, John Brazier, Raju Misra, Matt Alcock 67
23= Joe Kirwan, Nigel Hall, Richard Palmer, John Farnsworth 64
23= Olivier Troalen, Rob Hutchinson, Louis Trioalen, Ben Aardewerk 64

Fixby start times
Thursday 20th June
10.00 Colin Roberts x4
10.09 Simon Hemsley x4
10.18 Jim Caldwell x4
10.27 Jim Clarke x4
10.30 Paul Cooper x4
10.36 Jack Coleman x4
10.45 Mick Mahon x4
10.54 Chris Adams x4
11.03 Dave Stanhope x4
11.12 Rob Platt x4
11.21 Steve Finnan x4
11.30Roy Ainsworth x4
11.39 Pete Dobson x4
11.48 Roger Percival x4
11.57Steve Aspinall x4
12.06 Paul Rudkin x4
12.15 Neil Edwards x4
12.24 Chris Smith x4
12.33 Peter Maher x4
12.42 Paul Fell x4
12.51 John Hunt x4
1.00 Nigel Hallows x4
1.09 Dave Sully x4
1.18 Les Russon x4
1.27 Richard Blackwell x4
Brian Hopkins x4
1.36 David Smith x4
1.45 Bernard Wood x4
1.54 Steve Parle x4
2.03 Gordon Warke x4
2.12 Gary Parle x4
2.21 Bill Melia x4
2.30 Paul Price x4
2.39 Dave Goodwin x4
2.48 Dave Griffiths x4
2.57 Lee Tilley x4